PDA

View Full Version : Transformers for a 3CX15000



10 Gauge
04-16-2009, 11:34 AM
What size transformers would one need for a 3CX15000 and how much does something that size run??

gunslinger338
04-16-2009, 12:02 PM
3 phase mobile ???
220 volt ??
Filament ??
Plate ??

More info is needed

10 Gauge
04-16-2009, 12:38 PM
Oh don't get me wrong, I'm not in the market to actually get one or run one. Just curious as to what kind of power requirements these suckers have and what all is involved cost wise with running one. :)

Thought it might turn in to a good discussion.

Thanks for the reply Pillpopper.

295
04-16-2009, 04:16 PM
The transformer company is Peter Dahl, which used to be in Texas. However, Peter Dahl retired due to sickness and the company and all associated hardware, designs, and trade name were purchased by the guy who owns this company...http://www.harbachelectronics.com/main/page_xfmr_catalogs.html

linearone
04-17-2009, 10:38 AM
before you go any further 10 ga. are you asking about:
base or mobile?
all the transformers required or just the plate?

10 Gauge
04-17-2009, 10:50 AM
before you go any further 10 ga. are you asking about:
base or mobile?
all the transformers required or just the plate?
This would be for a mobile setup I would reckon. And yeah all of the transformers required.

linearone
04-17-2009, 11:01 AM
What was said earlier about 6 amps or so with about 7 grand is right. I have seen 8 myself, supposedly guys in the northwest are getting up to 10,000 volts... I am not so sure I believe it.

you can buy whatever transformer you want to do it. most guys will just use 6 1 amp transformers. some guys use 1.5 amps, Ive seen 4 amp transformers in the moble also.. Depends on the setup.

I would use (6) 1 amps. they would be 3 phase in 3 phase out.

research delta transformers..

the filament it tricky you require 160 or so (is that right?) amps at 6.3 volts so you COULD use a transformer fed by an inverter. lots of guys do.

would be a big transformer 160 amps CCS. probably be 60 lbs or more.

figure $550 per 1 amp transformer and probably 600 or so for the filament. thats just the iron, that not even counting ALL the extras.... its not for the poor..
if you dont have lots of money DC amps are great till a point, when you get to the arena of 16-24 pills.... its starts to have a negative gain for dollar for dollar invested.

bottom line if you are gettin up in skip and hold a big hammer I dont care how you do it, just be sure to come correct. Thats what its all about, not guys with 8 pills callin themselves bosses.

10 Gauge
04-17-2009, 11:14 AM
Damn expensive aint it?

If you had to put a ROUGH figure on what it would cost to run a 3CX15000 in a mobeal, how much would you reckon it would cost overall (including the cost of the tube, alternators, etc....). $15,000?

linearone
04-17-2009, 11:19 AM
buying new everything?
if you bought new, and I dont mean rebuilt.... ALL new 320s (11 of them) would cost $17,600 alone, with no pulleys or brackets or anything, just alts....

it is not cheap.

gunslinger338
04-20-2009, 09:11 AM
don't forget the extensive engine work that must be done to turn all of that and not experience catastrophic failure

711
04-20-2009, 01:41 PM
Thats my dream setup. Don't forget the driver for that big hammer.

10 Gauge
04-20-2009, 01:49 PM
Yeah what kind of driver is needed to get full output out of that humdinger?

linearone
04-20-2009, 04:12 PM
I would think a zbox or a 3000 or a 32 pill would work. I guess its all about voltage, drive, expectations, final goals etc. etc, I would think 2500-3000 would get it up.

Master Chief
05-15-2009, 08:14 AM
buying new everything?
if you bought new, and I dont mean rebuilt.... ALL new 320s (11 of them) would cost $17,600 alone, with no pulleys or brackets or anything, just alts....

it is not cheap.
There is a better way. A tow-behind 25KVA generator would give you all kinds of power, including 480V 3-phase! On the upside, you have back up power for your block!

The Bill Collector
05-15-2009, 08:18 AM
There is a better way. A tow-behind 25KVA generator would give you all kinds of power, including 480V 3-phase! On the upside, you have back up power for your block!

I really like this idea.... :ihih:

JesseJamesNEC
07-22-2009, 11:58 PM
I was talkin with abuddy of mine that's running a 3cx20000 in his suburban, his total starting from scratch dollar-wise was $28,500.00 he has 2 drivers 11 alts, and really gets in my ears up this way when he hammers that box! LOTS of juice flowin in that truck! Big money!

grasshopper
07-23-2009, 09:21 AM
Something else to think about is what its gonna take to power the transformer.
Lets just say 7000 volts on the plate at 6 amps. Comes up to be 190.90 amps you would need from the power company just to power that one amp.

10 Gauge
07-23-2009, 09:42 AM
I was talkin with abuddy of mine that's running a 3cx20000 in his suburban, his total starting from scratch dollar-wise was $28,500.00 he has 2 drivers 11 alts, and really gets in my ears up this way when he hammers that box! LOTS of juice flowin in that truck! Big money!
Instant cancer anyone?

JesseJamesNEC
07-23-2009, 10:02 AM
Doubles as a cigarette lighter ;)