User Tag List

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    3strucking's Avatar
    3strucking is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 893 Home Channel: 1,17,19,26,29
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    NE GA
    Radio
    galaxy
    Posts
    235
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default what size tube amp can I run?

    I have a extra 220 volt 50 amp outlet that is not in use. What size amp could I run? I have never owned a tube type amp before so I am looking for some help and suggestions.

  2. #2
    preacherman's Avatar
    preacherman is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 379 Home Channel: 6, 29, 38lsb,
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Roscoe, Illinois
    Radio
    Maco 5/8, Gen. Lee, Pal. 300a, 10k, Cobra 29, DM 1X4, 706MkIIG, Yaesu FT990
    Posts
    198
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    With 50 amps at 220v...you could run a couple of KW easily.
    Preacherman
    "Preacherman workin' this mudduck Mercury"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Metro Chicago, IL
    Radio
    Junk
    Posts
    18,080
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by preacherman View Post
    With 50 amps at 220v...you could run a couple of KW easily.
    Preacherman
    I agree... Palstar makes the Commander HF-2500E (Export), which uses (3) 3CPX800A7 Tubes.

    It has 2800 watts continous carrier output with 50 watts input.

    It has a power requirement of 220 volts at 30 amps.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Radio
    IC-781 with three element beam and several dipoles.
    Posts
    54
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Let's just rely on ohms law to tell us the accurate answer. If you have 220 volts times 50 amps that gives you 11 KW input power. Calculating on the conservative side for an amplifier efficiency of 50% with some extra headroom added in, I'd say you're good for 5 KW average output anyhow. I bet you'd make it to 6 or 7 for short periods before you snap the breaker open.

Similar Threads

  1. Size Matters
    By gunslinger338 in forum Mobile Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 10:50 AM
  2. What size fuse?
    By instigator in forum Mobile Discussion
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: 05-24-2010, 09:52 PM
  3. What size amp?
    By Smack in forum Mobile Discussion
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 04-15-2009, 09:03 AM
  4. what size fan
    By Fluxmaster in forum Mobile Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-14-2009, 07:04 PM
  5. Alt size
    By junkie 870 in forum Mobile Discussion
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 02-08-2009, 04:20 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •