User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 40
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Radio
    706MIIG m104c
    Posts
    923
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default Flex.... which one

    i know we have to fantastic audio fella son this forum......so i figured i would ask

    does one go with the flex 1500, to drive a small amp?

    or does one go with the 3000 to drive the bigger amp?

    are they both easily converted for 11m??

    is this unit and a PC all one would need?


    i have many more questions..... but i will get these out there first

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    53rd & 3rd
    Radio
    Old Junk that smells of dust
    Posts
    3,846
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A400 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Last time I checked the 3000 has limited tx audio bandwidth. I could be wrong though.
    Quote Originally Posted by 10 Gauge View Post
    I'm sorry bro. I found out the hard way that dude likes to suck dicks and get his buttfuck on when he tried to seduce me in his radio shack... He put on some high heels, lipstick and let down that long nappy hair of his and told me to get brown. I was like nahhhh bro, you're not my type, sorry dawg, gotta get going.



    Trying not to choke on that 10 ohm smoke.

  3. #3
    instigator is offline Pro Mauldropper DX Numbers: 427 Home Channel: All of them
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Radio
    One of everybody's
    Posts
    1,064
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    5000 is the best sounding.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Radio
    706MIIG m104c
    Posts
    923
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    so.... one would be smart to just go for the 5000???

  5. #5
    instigator is offline Pro Mauldropper DX Numbers: 427 Home Channel: All of them
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Radio
    One of everybody's
    Posts
    1,064
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Froggy View Post
    so.... one would be smart to just go for the 5000???
    If you got the cash. Then yes. I get together with a group on 3.810 most saturday nights that are in to ESSB or wide audio. And most of them are running flex. I personally run a FT-2000 with a Heil PR-20. I am considering a FLex down the road just dont know if im ready to control my radio with a mouse yet. I still like to turn knobs and push buttons.

  6. Thanks Craig thanked for this post
  7. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Radio
    706MIIG m104c
    Posts
    923
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    i will control it however the need be... i want to sound top notch

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Radio
    love helping people get better sounding quality audio
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    get the 1500, I have the mod to make it TX 0-50 Mhz

    the 3000 has a built in amp and antenna tuner for 3 times the price, I think its better to have that stuff separate for better overall control.

    the 5000 is the same as 3000 with the addition of a built in computer for 5 times the price.

    again the best deal is the 1500, I just sold a modified one to Ice Cream Man, look him up and ask him what he thinks.

    I also have the mod to make the 1500 TX 5000Hz ( only available on the flex 5000 )
    ARIVERISITY OF UNIZONA

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    53rd & 3rd
    Radio
    Old Junk that smells of dust
    Posts
    3,846
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default Flex.... which one

    Do you know of any "mars" mods? I have the 1000 and am using an old version of powerSDR
    Quote Originally Posted by 10 Gauge View Post
    I'm sorry bro. I found out the hard way that dude likes to suck dicks and get his buttfuck on when he tried to seduce me in his radio shack... He put on some high heels, lipstick and let down that long nappy hair of his and told me to get brown. I was like nahhhh bro, you're not my type, sorry dawg, gotta get going.



    Trying not to choke on that 10 ohm smoke.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Radio
    love helping people get better sounding quality audio
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -=PEAKABOO=- View Post
    Do you know of any "mars" mods? I have the 1000 and am using an old version of powerSDR
    I don't have anything for the 1000, sorry, its totally different from the newer flex line
    ARIVERISITY OF UNIZONA

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    2,734
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    Default

    i am ashamed of myself now i didnt know icecream man was trying to set something up the other day
    and spent all that money on that and i keyed on him with my cobra 29 from the mobile
    i hang my head in shame
    Broadcasting 3380 feet above sealevel

  12. Thanks HiDef thanked for this post
  13. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Radio
    Old Tram tube and new RCI mosfet radios
    Posts
    283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rickety Bones View Post
    get the 1500, I have the mod to make it TX 0-50 Mhz

    the 3000 has a built in amp and antenna tuner for 3 times the price, I think its better to have that stuff separate for better overall control.

    the 5000 is the same as 3000 with the addition of a built in computer for 5 times the price.

    again the best deal is the 1500, I just sold a modified one to Ice Cream Man, look him up and ask him what he thinks.

    I also have the mod to make the 1500 TX 5000Hz ( only available on the flex 5000 )
    Cool...this is the first time I heard of 11 meter TX ability for a Flex.

    You may have just made up my mind on a new multi-band "rig" if the mod works. Finally cracked the code or is it a hardware revision? Do you still have the ability to receive software updates from the factory or will it tattle on you. Can you enlighten me please?

  14. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Radio
    Old Tram tube and new RCI mosfet radios
    Posts
    283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I read that if you can prove that you are part of a MARS/ CAP group there is a patch the factory will send you?? I am not at this time

  15. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Radio
    Icom IC-707, Siltronix 1011D, Cobra 2000
    Posts
    7,232
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I toyed with the thought of purchasing a Flex radio last year I just can't wrap my arms around a computer controlled radio not withstanding the cost. There's no denying they sound awesome on the airwaves.


    Government's first duty is to protect the people, not run their lives. - Ronald Reagan

  16. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Radio
    love helping people get better sounding quality audio
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    BBB. your gonna have to call me for the details
    rick
    520-591-7159 Im in Arizona, call anytime during daylight hours 7A till 7P Az time, we are the same as cali right now.
    ARIVERISITY OF UNIZONA

  17. Thanks BBB thanked for this post
  18. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    NC
    Radio
    Hand wired Tram D201
    Posts
    55
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rickety Bones View Post
    get the 1500, I have the mod to make it TX 0-50 Mhz

    the 3000 has a built in amp and antenna tuner for 3 times the price, I think its better to have that stuff separate for better overall control.

    the 5000 is the same as 3000 with the addition of a built in computer for 5 times the price.

    again the best deal is the 1500, I just sold a modified one to Ice Cream Man, look him up and ask him what he thinks.

    I also have the mod to make the 1500 TX 5000Hz ( only available on the flex 5000 )
    Do you have any AM audio samples from the 1500 ?

  19. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Radio
    love helping people get better sounding quality audio
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Craig View Post
    I toyed with the thought of purchasing a Flex radio last year I just can't wrap my arms around a computer controlled radio not withstanding the cost. There's no denying they sound awesome on the airwaves.
    I understand your dilemma, to me its all about the sound, I'm not a button pushing, knob turning appliance operator, haha. I'm only interested in the audio quality. unfourtenitily to get real good quality sound you have to spend money, you can't get Lamborghini performance from a Volkswagen.

    I have owned alot of real high end ham rigs in the past costing well past 5K, and they all have really shine in either SSB or AM but not both and you have to also purchase additional filers and ad on's to make them just sound OK.

    the flex on the other hand, sounds the best hands down and you do not have to buy anything additional. If you process your audio before the flex, they will sound incredible, just like a commercial broadcast station.

    I use a 1500, and sold all my other ham gear, its the only thing I would every buy, without hesitation.

    Rick
    ARIVERISITY OF UNIZONA

  20. Thanks Craig thanked for this post
  21. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Radio
    Old Tram tube and new RCI mosfet radios
    Posts
    283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Understood. I'd be much more willing to take the plunge if the device will do 11 please-thank you very much.

    Note: Anyone interested probably already knows, but you will need a newer good PC to run as per FlexRadio Systems. Luckily I already have an i7 laptop with S400 firewire and nvidia GEFORCE w/CUDA graphics built in (although the Flex 1500 only needs a USB interface)

    http://kc.flexradio.com/KnowledgebaseArticle50063.aspx

  22. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Radio
    love helping people get better sounding quality audio
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    sure log into www.canigetaradiocheck.com and listen

    mine is the first one, when you get to where you can see the radio call me and I will talk into it from about 3 miles away and you will be able to hear

    Rick
    520-591-7159
    I'm in AZ
    Last edited by Rickety Bones; 12-31-2012 at 01:36 PM.
    ARIVERISITY OF UNIZONA

  23. Thanks BBB thanked for this post
  24. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Radio
    love helping people get better sounding quality audio
    Posts
    157
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I run mine on a very old laptop, its a pent 4 @ 2.4 gig w/ 500Megs of ram.

    when I run the flex I can not run anything else but does work,

    I have several customers running pent 4 single core@ 3.0 gig w/1 gig ram without problems.

    processing the audio before it goes into the flex really helps also

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by BBB View Post
    Understood. I'd be much more willing to take the plunge if the device will do 11 please-thank you very much.

    Note: Anyone interested probably already knows, but you will need a newer good PC to run as per FlexRadio Systems. Luckily I already have an i7 laptop with S400 firewire and nvidia GEFORCE w/CUDA graphics built in (although the Flex 1500 only needs a USB interface)

    http://kc.flexradio.com/KnowledgebaseArticle50063.aspx
    WOW, I just looked at the flex requirements for computers and from what I read it looks like my machines wont work at all ?

    I do not know why they do, but they do work. I guess it's just one of those magical computer things that I can't explain.
    ARIVERISITY OF UNIZONA

  25. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Radio
    Old Tram tube and new RCI mosfet radios
    Posts
    283
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Check out this link to the Flex 1500 on a kewl Dell touch screen....drool, drool...

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZxVxEuYU04Y

  26. Thanks Craig thanked for this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. K40 Super Flex vs. Firestik FS II ???
    By mtweller in forum Mobile Discussion
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 10:54 AM
  2. Antenna flex?????
    By LittleJohn in forum Mobile Discussion
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-13-2009, 11:27 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •