User Tag List

Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: 10khz switch

  1. #1
    Fish's Avatar
    Fish is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 005 Home Channel: 19, 28.300
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Concord NC
    Radio
    Magnum S9- Barefoot???
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default 10khz switch

    Going down the road heard a guy wanting to buy a radio with a 10khz switch. I have one on my Mag S-9 and never gave it much thought. Does anyone out here use repeaters?
    "Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen."
    Albert Einstein :yesnod:

  2. #2
    10 Gauge's Avatar
    10 Gauge is offline Tech Support DX Numbers: 509 Home Channel: 19
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Dominion
    Radio
    JVC KD-X50BT
    Posts
    10,799
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    4 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Items for Sale

    Default

    They have repeaters for CB? lol

  3. #3
    rustynail/987's Avatar
    rustynail/987 is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 987 Home Channel: 21,26.915,19
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    kingsley, michigan
    Radio
    virage vx 68- 2pill superstar- antron 99 on base soon. rci 2950 and 2pill a
    Posts
    206
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    the 10khs switch is for the inbetween channels and to get the rc channels
    rci 2950, rm italy 400, wilson 5000 on mobile
    73 rustynail/987

  4. #4
    Fish's Avatar
    Fish is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 005 Home Channel: 19, 28.300
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Concord NC
    Radio
    Magnum S9- Barefoot???
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Ahhhhhhhhh! I think it is for 10M FM repeter use overseas. Need to check but I think it offsets the recieve freq to the transmit freq. Ahhhhhhhhhh! I don't think we use FM in "CB" freq range....... Ahhhhhhhhhh! I could be wrong, but there is more to an S-9 than AM. Was just thinking out load to see if more of these radios' capibilities were being used other than 27.1850 AM.
    "Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen."
    Albert Einstein :yesnod:

  5. #5
    diralect Guest

    Default

    If that guy had a better tech available to him... I've yet to come across a radio that I couldn't add a 10khz switch to. No need for a new radio just for that.

  6. #6
    Iceman's Avatar
    Iceman is offline Thought Police DX Numbers: ---- Home Channel: 19
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Jersey Shore
    Radio
    Some Stuff
    Posts
    3,419
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    10kc switch is nice if the regular channels are crowded, skip is rolling in and you need a quiet spot, or if there's some douchebag you want to get away from because most radios cant get there. handy little feature to have

  7. #7
    94ct's Avatar
    94ct is offline Stroker Made ®94ct® DX Numbers: 94 Home Channel: never no
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    ct
    Radio
    anything can find
    Posts
    2,023
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    that why i bought my MONSTER RADIO tuned connex 4300 hp AM/FM 6 bank channels 2290 driver yeah and more audio then an opera singer break a breaka

  8. #8
    tank350NJ's Avatar
    tank350NJ is offline RDX4LIFE DX Numbers: 350 Home Channel: 19
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    GARBAGE PILE
    Radio
    "STD" Uniden 78 dave made's m40, 1x4, 2x8 custom
    Posts
    816
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fish View Post
    Going down the road heard a guy wanting to buy a radio with a 10khz switch. I have one on my Mag S-9 and never gave it much thought. Does anyone out here use repeaters?
    A 10khz switch is for you "A" channels, for example 19A
    Channel 19 is 27.185 and channel 20 is 27.205.
    Channel 19A a is 27.195, a standard 40 channel cb cannot access those frequencies unless modifyed.
    "A" channels are 3, 7, 11, 15, and 19
    3A is 26.995
    7A is 27.045
    11A is 27.095
    15A is 27.145
    19A is 27.195

  9. #9
    rustynail/987's Avatar
    rustynail/987 is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 987 Home Channel: 21,26.915,19
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    kingsley, michigan
    Radio
    virage vx 68- 2pill superstar- antron 99 on base soon. rci 2950 and 2pill a
    Posts
    206
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    you understand now fish?
    rci 2950, rm italy 400, wilson 5000 on mobile
    73 rustynail/987

  10. #10
    MoJo's Avatar
    MoJo is offline MoJo's Radio Shop DX Numbers: 519 Home Channel: 1 6 12 19 28
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Traverse City, Michigan
    Radio
    PC76XLW, NJ Dave Made 1x4, LMR400, Pred 10K 12" Comp
    Posts
    5,141
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    And in the US repeaters are illegal on CB but I think down under they can use them.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    I always tell folks that the 10 K switch is like the slab of meat between the two slices of bread. I tell them a repeater is the brother of Saint Peter. That is when they offer me the card of their Therapist. I tell them I don't need a Therapist, I was pissed when I woke up this morning. I don't know why no one wants to talk to me on the CB anymore! Texas Halgermite understands me.

    I didn't get the handle "Acid Head" for nothing y'know...I had to earn that insult!

  12. #12
    Fish's Avatar
    Fish is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 005 Home Channel: 19, 28.300
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Concord NC
    Radio
    Magnum S9- Barefoot???
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Yeah! yeah guys- I get it. I just assumed it for a feq offset (obvioulsy), for use with a repeater. And yeah Mo- FM is also not to be used on CB freqs and I do not believe they use AM or SSB for repeaters much anymore. I guess you could, but why would you want to?

    http://www2.arrl.org/qst/2004/03/pasterna.pdf Is an interesting pdf about an old AM repeater. I really like the story in the blue box titled "Art and Millie Gentry."

    fish
    "Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen."
    Albert Einstein :yesnod:

  13. #13
    Fish's Avatar
    Fish is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 005 Home Channel: 19, 28.300
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Concord NC
    Radio
    Magnum S9- Barefoot???
    Posts
    154
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    "Acid Head"

    I love it!

    fish
    "Common sense is the collection of prejudices acquired by age eighteen."
    Albert Einstein :yesnod:

  14. #14
    GoGetta's Avatar
    GoGetta is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: 982 Home Channel: 19
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Richmond,Va
    Radio
    RCI.........6pill...............10K
    Posts
    174
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    ok.....

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    188
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Fish View Post
    "Acid Head"

    I love it!

    fish
    I got that from a dispatcher when it seemed my log book said that I arrived back from my trip before I left. So when I came back from my off days the long book page was taped to the bulletin board with a note that read:

    "Acid Head, re make log book!"

    It stuck!

  16. #16
    chameleon's Avatar
    chameleon is offline Apprentice Mauldropper DX Numbers: N/A Home Channel: 17
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    W NC USA
    Radio
    DX 979, XForce TNT 350, 5' Skipshooter
    Posts
    175
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Default

    Repeaters are used on the 10m band. (just above 11m) The offset is 100 KHz, not 10 KHz. FM would be the chosen mode. Hope this helps.




Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-05-2009, 03:27 PM
  2. Switch to Dish Network today!
    By 10 Gauge in forum General Off Topic Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 01:53 PM
  3. switch for radios?
    By Fluxmaster in forum Base Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 05-08-2009, 02:21 AM
  4. coax switch
    By gravedigger209 in forum Base Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 03-19-2009, 04:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •